That remarkable photo from the Grotto at Notre Dame


Advent is coming to a close and we are, once again, drawing toward the anniversary of the first coming of Christ. Lately, I’ve been thinking about what I can do to grow in my faith since it’s felt stagnant. Maybe you have too. Here’s a short list of things I’ve been trying to do to climb out of this spiritual rut:

  1. Slow down. Back when I was competing in speech + debate, I always had people tell me to  s l o w   d o w n. Slow down and think about what you’re saying instead of checking off your list of prayers. I’ve also purchased a recording of the Rosary off iTunes. It’s got music and two or three different speakers, which helps me to be more mindful.
  2. Read. A good friend gave me a copy of the Diary of Saint Faustina last night and I really look forward to reading it! Annotating is a good way to be present when reading too because you’re focused on what to underline or highlight next.
  3. Be present. My mind always kind of been somewhere else. I zone out while doing chores or whatever. But lately, I’ve been trying to stop and say a quick prayer of offering to Our Lady and ask her to use this time and inconvenience for peace or family or whatever is on my mind.
  4. Pray more novenas. It’s a website. Go check it out. Daily novenas that take maybe a minute or two delivered to your email every day. No excuses of “I forgot” or “it takes too much time”. 😉

I wanted to share those four suggestions and the following article. We have not been forgotten or abandoned. God is with us.

Merry Christmas to you + yours!

Love,

Rana || xoxo

 

(Part 1 of 3)  I posted something 8 days ago on my Facebook page that has kept me busy with correspondence all week. It’s been shared and re-shared (update: thousands and thousands of ti…

Source: That remarkable photo from the Grotto at Notre Dame

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

