• mixtape : study edition •


Because I should be doing school.

Best excuse ever, amirite?

And because I get super distracted if I’m listening to lyrics I want to sing along to, but can’t stand soundtracks, foreign music is ideal. And not just any foreign music; foreign music that makes you excited to be alive; foreign music that makes your soul sing because you can’t; foreign music that doesn’t put you to sleep or make you go, “ugh, foreign noise”.

I know, I know. You’re just dying to learn what kind of foreign music I fill my ears with. You have no clue. Fine; I won’t make you wait.

• korean pop + japanese rock •

Hit you like a truck, didn’t it?

You never expected that from me.

Nah.

Well, I’m just full of surprises.

Now you want to hear it, right? Of course you do.

• BTS •

The Bangtan Boys encourage me when I feel like throwing a text book out the window + screaming, “I’M DOPE. I DON’T NEED TO BE EDJUMICATED.” The only pain I feel as I listen to this comes from the fact that Jungkook (one in the officer getup) is my age. And can dance. And can sing. And doesn’t have to do school. I don’t know if he does or not, but it seems like he has the option not to?

Dope

Do yourself a favor + turn on the captions.

I Need U

If only I could do more than the chicken dance…

• BIGBANG •

Fantastic Baby

Fantastic Baby whispers that I can do the thing. Well, it probably doesn’t. But I think being told, “wow, fantastic baby” a few times isn’t a bad thing.

• FTISLAND •

Pray

They are praying for me. I can do this.

Time To

And it’s time to fight, fight, fight. Time to do it right. Even though I’m down + afraid to go.

• SHINee •

Spoiler

The most amazing entrance + dance, yo.

• VIXX •

Chained Up

Because I can’t get away from all this school work.

Memory

I need memories of times when I had time to write, draw, smile, laugh…

Love Equation

Because math has taught me that I can’t do anything without calculations + watching grown men shove ice cream in another person’s face is kind of funny.

• GOT7 •

Just Right

Because I don’t need a 5.0 GPA to validate my worth.

Okay, kids, that’s what I’ve got. If you want more recommendations, please feel free to ask me. I really love chatting with you + enjoy the Korean culture very much.

Love always,

Rana || xoxo

8 thoughts on “• mixtape : study edition •

  1. It’s funny that you posted this right now, cause I was sitting here struggling through the same thing – Meaning I was /trying/ to concentrate on my school, but still trying to listen/sing along to Spotify at the same time:) Thank you for sharing! I’ll make it a point to listen to these this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Maddie! I feel ya. School’s a killer. And it’s super frustrating when you want to listen to /something/, but it’s all distracting! I hope these help a bit!

      And if you think you might like K-Pop, but these aren’t your style, let me know; I’ll find you something. ^_^

      Like

  2. kpop is my fave. 🙂 BTS is my ultimate favourite group–they have such a good variety of songs. songs for jamming out, songs for crying to, songs for inspiration, songs for dance parties, songs for me to butcher with my terrible korean rap skills…but VIXX is the group that originally got me into kpop, so their songs have so many good memories attached to them.

    Jungkook’s talent kills me. I mean, I’m a whole year older than he is and what have I done with my life? become a procrastination master? he does have to go to school, although he hates it and isn’t the greatest at subjects other than music and sports (and sadly he couldn’t graduate this year like he was supposed to because he’s been so busy he couldn’t study for things), but still. the kid is absurdly talented!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Ely!

      Thanks for the clarification! I figured Jungkook probably went to school since it’s so important in Korea, but wasn’t totally sure. It stinks that he had to delay graduation; I think I would cry.

      BTS is amazing! They’re so diverse, like you said, and eclectic which is perfect for me. ::eyes Gingerling tagline:: My first was actually EXO!

      VIXX is the bomb diggity. I love all of their personalities and dig the music. You put on one of their songs and it //feels// like VIXX, you know? They are a very distinct group.

      Thanks for the comment, by the way! I hope you stick around. 🙂

      Rana || xoxo

      Like

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

