• she’s ugly •


|| “She’s ugly.” ||

|| “Is she pretty or is she just wearing a lot of makeup?” ||

|| “Geez, she’s fat.” ||

I hear these negative remarks frequently. I’ve heard them all my life. I noticed my little sister repeating these harsh statements + that ticked me off because, cynic and critic though I am, I like to consider myself a just + fair one (just ask me, right?).

Maybe cynic and critic aren’t the right terms here. Realistic sounds more accurate in this context, no?

I have a few thoughts and if I don’t put them in a list, I’ll ramble. Typical, right?

  • Criticizing someone for the way they look is so shallow. Have we really nothing better to do than point out the flaws in others? Why do we do it, anyway? Does it make us feel better about ourselves, somehow? How low are we that we need to put others down to feel good about ourselves?
  • Being the most beautiful person in a room isn’t a competition. We shouldn’t feel inferior because a prettier person exists.
  • Beautiful is such a fluid and relative term anyway. By whose standards are we judging others and why do we do it?
  • These statements teach us, and others, to be judgmental and cruel. It’s not just a statement. It’s a worldview. If we look at someone and judge them by their appearance, we miss out. And, believe me, we’re missing more than they are.
  • We’re giving in to the lies of pop culture + that’s what the government wants + we can’t let them win. Now I insert something about aliens and government conspiracy theories here, right?
  • No one is ugly from the outside. It’s a misconception sold to us by the media and we buy it subconsciously. You can’t look at someone and say, “they’re ugly.” You don’t know that.
  • Ugly is a choice. We choose ugly whenever we judge someone by their appearance and that makes us uglier in that moment than they will ever be. Don’t choose ugly. You’re better than that.

Okay, I think I’m done.

I wanted to speak on this only because it’s a mentality that I feel should be recognized; we often judge subconsciously. I do too. I’m not perfect. All too often do I look at someone and go, “I don’t want to be friends with them. Look at their eyebrows. Ugh.” And that’s wrong of me.

Style is a preference. We can judge that. Faces + body types are individual and unique. We should love that.

Over + out.

Rana || xoxo

6 thoughts on “• she’s ugly •

  1. Loverly work as usual, Dearie! These statements are all so true; too often do we look at people and judge them (and ourselves) based on appearance only. Just a little food for thought: whenever I’m tempted to think negatively about someone’s appearance/clothing/you-name-it, I say a Hail Mary. That steers my mind away from the situation, and reminds me that the outside of a person isn’t what we should be focusing on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. 🙂 Same here. I usually don’t judge people based on their appearance, but sometimes I have to stop myself and find something pretty about them because who are we to decide who’s beautiful and who’s not?

      Like

    • Hi, Skye! I’m the same way. I can’t remember the last time I spoke negatively about someone’s appearance, but I certainly have to stop myself from thinking it sometimes.

      Do you watch someone interact with others before determining their personality or speak to them personally?

      Like

  2. Hey! I found your blog just a bit ago, and I must say, it’s lovely. 😀
    I think you captured my thoughts on this perfectly. I want to shout this off the rooftops. Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

