My Hand Lettering Process


Sorry for the radio silence! We’ve been driving all around the state, looking at colleges + universities last week. But I don’t want to talk about that now.

I want to talk art.

More specifically, I want to talk about hand lettering art! Now, I’m not assuming anything about you, but I know I can’t be the only awkward chick with no social life worth speaking of. So in case you’re looking for something to do between now and the apocalypse, here’s a peek at my hand lettering process because, I tell you, this is the bomb diggity.

What You’ll Need:

  • A quote
  • Scrap paper
  • Printer paper (or a nice piece of thick paper, depending on how professional you want your end result to be – just make sure you can see through to your scrap paper)
  • Pencils
  • Eraser
  • Ruler
  • Scotch tape
  • Marker/pen with a fine tip (I use Copic muti-liner in the size 3.0)
  • Colors (optional)
  • Imagination + Patience

The Process:

Step the first: acquire your scrap paper + quote and get sketching! There’s no right or wrong way to do this. Just do what you want until you like what you’ve got. I use the ruler to make sure my lines are straight. Make sure they’re evenly spaced too. Oh, and this might be the greatest time to give your progress a quick look-see and be sure you have all your words and letters. Yes, I have left out letters before…

What you can do to help eliminate that mistake is write your quote down at the top of the page and just keep checking to make sure you’re not missing anything.

My Hand Lettering Process | The Gingerling

Atomic Fireballs are optional, but a snack is never a bad idea. As nice as it would be to be known for dying a starving artist, I’m not sure if that benefit outweighs the cost, you know?

My Hand Lettering Process | The Gingerling

A dear friend gifted the pencil-miser, special pencils, fine-tipped markers, and colored pencils to me last Christmas and they (and she) are the bomb-diggity.

My Hand Lettering Process | The Gingerling

(TIP: Go to a fonts website – I like 1001 Fonts -, choose one you like and can copy by hand. Choose the option of looking at all the letters in your font of choice. From there, you can copy your quote with that font! And don’t be afraid to make some words bigger than others or use different fonts. A quick Google search can show you which pair of fonts look best together.)

Step the second: Outline with a fine-tipped pen. I used that Copic one.

Step III: Take your nice paper and lay it on top; make sure it’s directly parallel. You don’t want straight lines going semi-vertically across the page! Or do you? Now go ahead and tape your nice paper onto the scrap paper and begin tracing over that with either a pencil or a pen, depending on how confident you are in your tracing abilities.

(NOTE: If you’re worried the paper will rip, just slap the tape onto the back of your hand a couple times to take away some of the sticky-ness.)

IMG_20150815_144404

Final Step: Add some quirky art! I usually outline in pencil (do it lightly so you can erase without burning a hole in the paper) and then go back over it in pen + color.

(NOTE: I’ve been revisiting this page for inspiration. But when you’re looking for doodles (or quotes), make sure you limit that time or you’ll never get anything done.

IMG_20150816_113854

My Hand Lettering Process | The Gingerling

My Hand Lettering Process | The Gingerling

My Hand Lettering Process | The Gingerling

Other hand lettering pieces: Excuse the poor lighting/quality. These are already on my wall and I didn’t want to take them down.

My Hand Lettering Process | The Gingerling

I love the circular aspect of it. It just requires more time, patience, and imagination. 😉

My Hand Lettering Process | The Gingerling

My Hand Lettering Process | The Gingerling

My Hand Lettering Process | The Gingerling

And these are a million others.

And these are a million others.

If you decide to give hand lettering a go, I’d love to see it in the comments!

God bless and may you never be conquered by marauding vikings. Or geese.

Rana

2 thoughts on “My Hand Lettering Process

  1. these are all gorgeous! So beautiful and talented! I have sometimes done something similar in my sketch book, but nowhere even half as close to nice as these and usually not using any tools (except pencils) and no fonts as a base. (just what ever came into my head.) I rather enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

