You don’t deserve what you want + here’s why


Whoa.

Harsh.

Ouch.

Before you go run to grab the cold water and soothe that burn, hang on for just a sec. Hear me out. I was watching this video and one of the points that Ariel mentioned really struck me. (You love it when people put your thoughts into words too, right?)

Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation. Oscar Wilde // gingerling.wordpress.com |

She was talking about achieving your dreams. And I’d like to touch on that. Here’s a list of my thoughts because, if you’ve been around for any amount of time, you know I love them:

#1) Your aspirations are yours to chase; they do not belong to your parents or friends.

You want to be the manager of Coca-Cola. That’s your dream. If you want it, you have to go get it. Your parents can’t call Coke up and ask for a promotion from nothing.

You have to start at the bottom and work your way up. If you can handle it and work hard enough, that proves you’re meant to be where you end up.

Good results don’t come from wishful thinking or simply asking nicely (although the latter does help). Good results come after one puts forth the effort, time, and resources.

So now that we know whose dream we’re talking about and who deserves it, let’s move on to why you don’t deserve what you want.

#2) You don’t deserve what you want because you’re still wanting it.

You get my drift?

No one gets handed their dreams on a silver platter (unless you’re rich and your dream is food). If you’re still wanting what you’re wishing for, you obviously haven’t worked…

a) hard enough

or

b) long enough.

Aspirations take time to materialize. You don’t deserve what the manager of Coca-Cola has because you haven’t made it there yet.

#3) Clarification Points

a) We’re talking about realistic dreams. If you come from a middle class family such as mine, your dreams are probably not as big (or expensive) as a kid of the President of the U.S., right? If you broke your legs, they got infected, and had to be amputated, winning first place in figure skating at the Olymipcs probably isn’t as realistic for you as it would be for someone with both legs. It’s just common sense (and life).

b) Even if you’ve worked hard, given up everything, and struggled toward your dream for ten years and still not there, you still don’t deserve it. Why? Because you obviously deserve much more.

I’m a firm believer in meaning. Everything has a reason for happening. And it all works out for the better (Romans 8:28). It really does. I know this from certain experiences in my life. I’m happier. I’m stronger. It could be from something as simple as not winning a debate round or more complex like not being born somewhere less miserable than Florida (which, by the way, is the place people come to die; seriously, more and more retirement homes are being built here). 😉

Consult not your fears but your hopes and your dreams. Think not about your frustrations, but about your unfulfilled potential. Concern yourself not with what you tried and failed in, but with what it is still possible for you to do. Pope John XXIII // gingerling.wordpress.com |

#4) The point is, if you don’t chase your dreams, no one’s going to go out and get them for you.

Yes, cheesy. I know.

But the level of cliche does not determine the truthfulness of a statement.

At one point or another, we all need to realize that we are in control of our own lives and we need to get off out butts and do something with them. (I’m still working on this and it’s frustrating as all get out. Seriously, a certain family member told me they would choose a profession for me and make me go to college for it. But that’s not their decision to make, not their life to run, and they can’t make me do it – as much as I respect them. And if you’re wondering, I told them the above and that I was praying for direction and I think they dropped the idea.)

I encourage you to live; not merely exist. Take risks. Ask for help. Do something to promote your future well-being. Do something to love yourself now.

You deserve the things you get and the things you don’t.

God bless,

Rana

2 thoughts on “You don’t deserve what you want + here’s why

  1. This was pretty amazing! I have so man goals and sometimes I’m like: ‘this is what I wanna do– and maybe “life” will interrupt and something else will happen, but if not? Why not? Why shouldn’t I have these goals? I know how to get there and I can work hard for it…! I’m willing to work for what I want… so if you’re going to invest in anything, why not let it be what you want?’ I mean, any job takes work, so why not try for the job/thing you really want?

    I guess I like this because people ask what I want to do “if I don’t have a family” and I tell them my goals and they’re like: “well, you’re never going to get there, try for this…” and I don’t say anything back but I always think: “but how do you know? I can work. I’m willing to do the work it takes to get there!”

    And I guess the mentality comes down to this: people aren’t willing to work for what their dreams; they want them to magically happen… so they don’t expect people to actually do the work it takes to get there.

    But it’s actually pretty worth while to be honest, working hard for what you want because you don’t even come close to regretting a thing! I mean, realistically– something else more wonderful might come into my life to “interrupt” (i.e. a family of my own) what I am doing, but in that case that is me choosing to let something go for something that I want more…!

    And this summed it up so beautifully! Well written! Why have I not found your blog sooner?!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I LOVE your titles, Rana. 😉 They catch the attention, screaming at the reader to take a look and take you seriously.
    And WONDERFUL points. I can’t believe you didn’t come in first at speech and debate tourneys. Seriously. We do all have to reach for our dreams, and we deserve what we get, what we’ve worked for. We don’t deserve what we haven’t tried to grasp. And sometimes God leads you in a path you had never considered, then you have to rely on Him to help you attain it. For instance, I was thinking of going into special ed or ancient cultures. But recently Heavenly Father made it pretty clear that I’m to go into medieval history, reaching to become an Arthurian scholar. And I can do it from a wheelchair. But I have to put in the effort.
    Just out of curiosity, have you ever considered teaching? ‘Cause I think you’d give some killer lectures.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

