“Take some more tea…”


“Take some more tea,” the March Hare said to Alice, very earnestly.
“I’ve had nothing yet,” Alice replied in an offended tone, “so I can’t take more.”
“You mean you can’t take less,” said the Hatter: “it’s very easy to take more than nothing.”
“Nobody asked your opinion,” said Alice.”

-Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland


About three years ago, my church was blessed with an organist with the voice of an angel (we’ve always had great music for the 8 and 10 o’clock Masses). She’s directed our choir and taught us a lot. About three weeks ago, she announced that she would be leaving to attend grad school. In Oklahoma.

We’ll ignore the fact that I cried for the entirety of the last choir practice and focus on the subject of today’s blog post: we had a tea party to celebrate her next step in life.

The conversation bounced from The Conjuring (something none of us had seen, but stemmed from my fear of clowns and circuses somehow) to Pride and Prejudice to Little Women to gluten-free allergies to a salad recipe I never received to “Rana, let’s hear you sing” to me sounding like a frog with asthma. Of course.

I have a rare disease. I don’t know what it’s called, but it’s where I can sing until someone asks me to (which I pretty much never do because I’ve always had a fear of singing in front of people).

Anyway, tea parties. If you’ve never been to one or thrown one, you need to fix that. Right now. Make time. Make tea. Make scones. Do what you need to do to have a tea party. You won’t regret it.

And, as a side note, Ms. Carrie is gluten-intolerant, so it was fun finding recipes that are, well, gluten-free!

The menu consisted of:

Everything was sugar-free except for the shortbread and the only sugar in the strawberry pretzel salad was honey. It was all gluten-free as well except for the shortbread.

Pictures:

"Take Some More Tea..."

I bought this at World Market. If you can, pick it up! It is //so// yummy (best way to drink it is with warm milk). My only problem is that it’s sweetened with Splenda.

IMG_20150626_154936789-2 (1)

IMG_20150626_154915667

IMG_20150626_154903909 (1)

 IMG_20150626_154846932 (1)

IMG_20150626_154824116_HDR

Half & Half on the left, sugar, tea bar, and all the way to the right is a cranberry juice cocktail with Perrier!

IMG_20150626_154809573 (1)

IMG_20150626_152133220 (1)

Plastic forks because we’re classy like that. Also because the real forks were in the dishwasher. And fingers because, well, I didn’t take this picture. 😛

IMG_20150626_152110912 (1)

IMG_20150626_152027825

My advice: take any opportunity to can to have a tea party. 😉

Ms. Carrie, it’s been a pleasure getting to know you this past year and a half as one of your choir students. Thank you for your time and witty remarks and sharing your lovely voice. We’re going to miss you and I’m going to try my best not to bawl this Sunday since it’s your last with us. May God bless you. ❤

Love,

Rana

2 thoughts on ““Take some more tea…”

  1. This was the sweetest post. 🙂
    I’m so sad that your teacher is leaving. 😦 Can you keep in contact via email or something?
    And tea parties!! Being LDS, I only drink herbal tea (which, as my best friend says, is broth made of herbs), but I still love having tea parties! One of our friends back where I used to live is a WWII veteran from England so we had a party with her. Wish you could’ve come, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

