//whimsy and wishful thinking


I want to make s’mores and spend time, under the stars and moon right now.

But not alone and not with the people I know.

I want to spend time with people who can tell me stories of times long before I was born, in the ages of dragons, magic, and castles. In times of valor and honor and in times much purer than our own.

Adventures, impossible things, and madness.

I want to wear a crown of flowers on my head, walk barefoot in a forest, and feel a cool breeze on my face.

But it’s Florida. It’s hot, humid, and the only stories I hear are from well-meaning people who tell me what they wish happythey’d done differently at my age. Or what I have that they never did. Or what they want me to do.

I just finished my junior year of high school and I want to run away from my creeping responsibilities. I don’t want to be told I’m a loser if I decide that college isn’t for me. I don’t want to be told I’m doing things wrong if I have student debt. I don’t want to be told anything.

I don’t want to be labeled a loser for decisions that go contrary to society’s definition of “success.”

I want to be happy.

I want to travel, explore, meet people I can learn from, tell stories, love, make good food, and just…

I want to be happy.

And I want to make other people happy.

I wish making people happy was a job. Because that would be great. And I would totally love it.

Have a lovely Friday, friend! ❤

Love,

Rana

5 thoughts on “//whimsy and wishful thinking

  1. Coming from someone who took the no college route, and faces a lot of criticism on that front. It’s your life, don’t let anyone except God tell you how to live it.
    I love when the whimsical feeling takes me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is one of my favorite posts.
    You make me happy, Rana. Responsibility is a strange thing that catches you by the ankles when you aren’t watching, and life is always full of pain, but I believe that you, of all people, will follow your dreams. You’re a dreamer, you’re intelligent and kind, and if anyone deserves happiness, it’s you. And for those of us that follow you, you make us happy. That’s why I stalk you — we can lift each other up and share our happiness.
    Love you, sweetheart. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad I follow your blog. I have had the exact thought: “All I want to do is be happy and make other people happy.” If you find a job utilizing such a skill, let me know. 🙂

    Also, I wholeheartedly agree that college is not for everyone. I have a master’s degree, and my husband went to a technical school. Money is not everything, but, just for the record, he makes more of it than me. Have you seen this episode of Messy Mondays? This guy makes me laugh. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SLhMPQTaXOE

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

