The Avengers: Age of Ultron: A Review


Note: This may be an incoherent one-sided “discussion” rather than a review, but I’ve got another speech and debate tournament coming up next week, loads of crap to get done, SAT’s tomorrow, and a dinner to go to tonight. (Prayers would be appreciated.) So if I seem a little off, it’s just because I’m a distracted French fry drowning in a cup of tea (basically, I shouldn’t be here).

No-Spoilers-Version: Bottom Line: It was wonderful. Go see it.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

When Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) jumpstarts a dormant peacekeeping program, things go terribly awry, forcing him, Thor (Chris Hemsworth), the Incredible Hulk (Mark Ruffalo) and the rest of the Avengers to reassemble. As the fate of Earth hangs in the balance, the team is put to the ultimate test as they battle Ultron (James Spader), a technological terror hell-bent on human extinction. Along the way, they encounter two mysterious and powerful newcomers, Pietro and Wanda Maximoff.

– The first review that popped up on Google when I asked for a summary of AoU –

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Financial Issues I have a theory. I think that the citizens of the Marvel universe secretly hate the Avengers. I mean, let’s face it: thousands of them just lost their (a) homes, (b) jobs, (c) probably a friend or family member, and (d) all their money. On top of that, I’m sure a lot need therapy. I’m guessing Stark is still rich because whatever governments in the Marvel universe don’t make him pay for the destruction caused justify that by saying, “Oh, well, you’ve just saved the world. Again. So it’s on the house.” And promptly raise their taxes. I’d really love to see all the Marvel universe monetary statistics and how they deal with their financial crises. Aside from that, I have to say — I really did enjoy Age of Ultron. And, you guys know me: I’m the queen of skepticism. The trailers looked like just another typical Marvel movie. But I felt that the characterization was almost 100% on point (while I’m more okay with Bruce and Natasha, considering Clint’s personal life [which, I have to say, was not expected and absolutely wonderful], I still don’t think it’s going to work out and I liked Nat better when she wasn’t interested in people). Back Story

They did a phenomenal job with showing this. We can talk about their pasts all day long, but until we see it, it’s not Humanization This was pretty much perfect. Clint actually talked, the Hulk made facial expressions other than angry, Tony is… Tony, Thor likes to party, Steve likes to dance, and Natasha used to be a ballerina or something. I loved that Ultron wasn’t just metal. He could think for himself. He had emotions. He got angry. He apologized for pushing Andy Serkis (that was him, wasn’t it?) down the stairs. He brought up and quoted the Bible. As a Christian, I was a bit wary of that because I don’t like to see it misused. But it really reminded me of when Jesus was in the desert, tempted by Satan. Even the devil can quote scripture. So I think that, by using those Biblical references, we see a bit of a sick parody in Ultron’s character. He knew he was doing wrong through his means of promoting “peace.” He could think. He wasn’t an idiot robot. Furthermore, he forgot words and made jokes. His verbal characterization was pretty well done. SPEAKING OF WHICH… “Language!” Captain America/Steve Rogers, that was amazing. Age of Ultron ticketsHumor I love humor as much as the next sarcastic weasel. But I felt like they could have done with a little less. It was a darker film that dealt with human problems and bad robots. But they tried to lighten it up with (almost) cheesy humor too frequently. Personally, I felt like it was unnecessary, but I laughed so it served its purpose. Twins I’m a sucker for twins. I love them. (AND IT’S WRONG TO SEPARATE THEM, MARVEL.) And I felt like these two weren’t just thrown in there. They had a purpose. Honestly, I think it’s incredible that the cast of characters was so well balanced. I didn’t think anyone was lacking a part and they all played theirs well. I’d definitely watch this again (not a hundred times, but again). And when I do, I might update this because I feel like I left out a lot. 😛 God bless! Rana P.S. I’m still working on another blog name.

4 thoughts on “The Avengers: Age of Ultron: A Review

  1. I just got back from seeing it actually. It was awesome!! And yeah, I’m pretty sure that was Andy Serkis. About halfway through his dialogue I was like….is it? It is!!!
    Good luck with everything!! I feel like that french fry. I had one final this morning and I have five more next week. Summer is almost here!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yet another lovely review of Age of Ultron. I have seen sooo many these last few weeks. I wish I could go see it in theaters. :p
    I’m especially excited about the twins and Clint. Apparently they were awesome. xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

