life, currently


Hello, lovelies!

I hope your week is off to a great start. ^_^ Today, I thought I’d just let you know what’s going on right now. My productivity levels are kind of shooting out the roof and I may be going crazy.

It’s no secret that I’m a nerd. I’m addicted to mental stimulation (just not when I’m trying to sleep). As a result, I kind of made a crazy decision to work my butt off for a couple of months in order to pay for two speech and debate tournaments.

Two.

Not just one, but two.

t w o

And they’re kind of expensive (for a poor student such as myself).

Image from 1001 Downloads.

Image from 1001 Downloads.

So here’s what my daily life is looking like:

Monday – Friday:

8:00 – 9:00 a.m. –

  • wake up
  • sign in for school
  • see what needs to be done by the end of the week
  • sigh
  • check email
  • check FaceBook
  • check Pinterest

9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. –

  • eat around 10/11 a.m. or whenever I get hungry enough to get off my butt and find something to eat
  • work on school
  • procrastinate
  • re-memorize parts of speech

1:00 – 2/3:00 –

  • exercise (anyone else work out to Denise Austin? No? Just me?)
  • read Free to Choose by Milton and Rose Freidman + annotate + take notes
  • shower?

3:00 – 4:00 –

  • we try to sneak in an episode of LOST
  • eat
  • try to work on debate here and there

5:15 –

  • sigh
  • leave for work (Monday, Tuesday, Thursday – Wednesday is choir practice, Friday I take off)

5:30 – 9:30 p.m. –

  • work
  • yawn

9:45/10:00/11:00 (it depends on what’s going on after work) –

  • get home/in bed

Saturday:

9:20 a.m. –

  • get out of bed
  • wonder why

9:30 –

  • make some food (if I’m feeling like it)
Recipe from Blue Apron.

Creamed kale recipe from Blue Apron.

Recipe from Blue Apron.

Pan-seared flank steak recipe from Blue Apron.

  • I may or may not try to get in some Free to Choose (I’m on a schedule — it should be done by the end of the month)

11:45 –

  • leave for work

12:00 – 9:30 p.m. –

  • work (I may take a total of 30 minutes to eat when I get hungry)
  • back gets achy from walking around too much

 

So this has been my life and I’ve been tired, but feeling productive, and also creatively drained. I keep telling myself that once tournament season is over, I’ll have time to write (curls into a ball, hibernates).

I’m hoping this is all worth it, really. I mean, if I knew I’d do well at the tournaments, this would be easier to get through, but there’s no guarantee.

I guess I just need to keep the focus on (here it comes, guys! she’s going to talk about r e l i g i o n) glorifying God, not making myself look good or feel good about myself. I struggle with jealousy and try to be happy for the newbies who do better than me, but it’s difficult, you know? You work hard and long for something that some new kid gets.

C’est la vie.

Humility is a lesson I need to learn. And I need to learn to do that gracefully.

I hope everything’s well on your end, darlings!

God bless!

Rana

One thought on “life, currently

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

