I’m //that// friend.


So I’m going to do my best to be super honest and accurate without being a drama queen. But, somehow, it seems that whenever someone is totally honest about something not-so-great, they’re just trying to come off as deep and dark and mature.

Whatever.

That’s not me.

This is me:

I’m the friend who laughs at everything you say because I’m not witty enough to come up with a decent verbal response.

I’m the friend who criticizes a lot, but will do my best to never say something that could hurt you.

I’m the friend with the best intentions, but has a hard time verbalizing them.

I’m the friend who has a harder time complimenting you than a stranger because I know you and you’re probably more talented than I am and, yes, I get jealous, but am super happy that you have them.

I’m the friend who doesn’t usually enjoy physical activities and has no problem sitting them out.

I’m the friend who needs you to care about the things I do well in or work hard at. Or, at least, congratulate me in or ask about occasionally.

I'm //that// friend.

I’m the friend who doesn’t like to stay out late (depending on who you are), but doesn’t mind staying up late (also depends on who you are).

I’m the friend who enjoys getting dressed up for a nice dinner out, but doesn’t want to stay too long.

I’m the friend who tries to say the right things, but never really does.

I’m the friend who doesn’t like being in a large group.

I’m the friend who constantly wonders if you like me or not.

I’m the friend who would rather you tell me you hate me than pretend to like me.

I’m the friend who prefers deep conversations to small talk.

I’m the friend who either obsessively cares but doesn’t want to be clingy or the friend who is pretty much apathetic about everything.

I’m the friend who can’t stand the sound of chewing (honestly, I wish I could rip myself apart or tear my ears off my head when someone is chewing anything).

I’m the friend who can’t stand the sound of slurping.

I’m the friend who comes off as quite apathetic if you’re talking to a group. But if you catch me alone and talk about the same thing, I’ll try to be engaged and interested.

I’m the friend who doesn’t get super excited about much of anything.

I’m the friend who tries to see everything from a different point of view whether it contrasts with yours or not.

I’m the friend who doesn’t mind being the only one not interested in that show or film or actor.

I’m the friend who over thinks everything and can’t stop wondering if the hang out might have been more fun if I wasn’t there.

I’m the friend who wants to be in the loop and invited to everything, but doesn’t want to go.

I’m the friend who gets hurt if I’m not invited to something (even if I don’t want to go).

I’m the friend who is happy if you don’t invite me to something you don’t want me to go to (yes, I realizes this is contradictory).

I’m the friend who wishes you could just tell me your exact feelings about me.

I’m the friend who wouldn’t believe you even if you did.I'm //that// friend.

I’m the friend who doesn’t understand how you could like me.

I’m the friend with no clue about pretty much anything.

I’m the friend I’m positive no one wants to take out in public.

I’m the friend with so many thoughts, but speaks few words of importance.

I’m the friend who tries to stay quiet because no one would really want to hear my opinions, right? I mean, I’m pretty pessimistic. Or realistic. Same difference.

I’m the friend who wants to always be there for you and would do anything important for you.

I’m the friend who doesn’t really talk about my problems.

I’m the friend with no relationship status and wonders why but would probably hate to have one anyway.

I’m the friend with the most confidence and the most insecurities.

I’m the friend who think I’m the worst friend and the best friend.

I’m the friend who cares too much.

I’m the awkward friend.

I’m (un)apologetically me.

 

Love,

Rana

 

P.S.

If you haven’t already, go check out my Writer’s Toolbox! It’s a compilation of resources for writers. 🙂

3 thoughts on “I’m //that// friend.

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

