2014 Going On 2015


Hello, lovely.

I’m not ready for the new year. This one has gone by way too fast. So I think I’ll live in denial for a while and just take life a day at a time.

When I think about a whole year that I have to get through, it’s overwhelming. But when I focus on just a day at a time, it’s easier to think about. Is that the same for you?

I don’t set New Year’s Resolutions. Why make them if you know you won’t keep them? They’ll just bring you down in the end. Instead, I propose that we set a few goals – not “I’ll lose this much weight” or “I’ll exercise this much a week” but set some meaningful goals.

I will say something kind to a stranger.

I will try a new food once a month.

I will love myself.

Whatever. Just make it meaningful to you, because if it doesn’t mean enough, you won’t keep that resolution. Personalize it. Make a plan to follow through. And just take it a little bit at a time.

Here’s my list:

  • I will work harder at speech and debate.
  • I will be more proud of myself for the effort I put in than the outcome.
  • I will finish editing The Reset.
  • I will read the Bible more.
  • I will pray more.
  • I will create more art.

It’s not a lot, but it’s doable.

And I won’t think about that right now. I’m going to eat chocolate cake with tinted cream cheese frosting to cope with this new year.

2015 Cake 2015 Cake

And in this new year, I hope you overcome your struggles. I hope you strive for your goals. I hope you succeed – and when you fail, I hope you learn why and use that information to make yourself a better person.

Now, a certain cousin and little sister of mine are about to eat my cake. Excuse me and make this year the best year ever.

Love,

Rana

 

2 thoughts on “2014 Going On 2015

  1. Pingback: New Year’s Symphony | On Another Note

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

