Day #1


Well, it was the first day back to school for me.

I can’t say I’m very happy.

While I do school at home, I’m still required to stay on pace and get as much work done as a normal student. The only difference is that I do it at home and have to be self-disciplined. But most of my courses this semester are with the local college since I dual enroll. We’ll see how well I handle this.

I work very well under short periods of pressure. Unfortunately, school is not short periods of pressure. It’s more like-

Okay, metaphor/analogy time, folks.

You remember the story of the Princess and the Pea?

Well, we’ll say that each mattress is a level of pressure. I am the pea.

Story time is over.

Essentially, that’s every kid’s life for four years. And I’m sure it’s not much easier in college. Well, assuming that you’re actually studying and being responsible…

I actually think I wanted to post something encouraging though.

So, let me direct you to three informational videos that might help you. I really like Ariel from Icon for Hire although I can’t listen to all of their songs based on the topics. She’s very encouraging, very honest, and down to earth.

One of the things that hit me hardest was a certain point she made: Hating the school does not equal rebelling against the system. I think it was Mark Twain who once said that hating someone is like taking poison and expecting the other person to get hurt. Something along those lines. Simply making it your role in life to hate school is not going to change anything. I need to remember that. And I need to get over myself.

Anyway, here you are. 🙂 (I kind of want to share all of her videos but, I’ll exercise self-control. 😛 )

Friend Finding 101

What I Wish I’d Known In Highschool

Who Are You Trying to Impress?

God bless!

Rana

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

