Character Development (Part 5)


I’m an INTJ/ISTJ, but I really think that all depends on what mood I’m in. 😉 It kind of helps to understand why I do certain things or act a certain way. Keep in mind, however, that I don’t let those personality types define me. And, speaking of personality types, that’s tonight’s topic. Gosh, I sound like a t.v. show host. 😛

determine your characters personality typeBut let’s get to the point. Mirriam Neal told me a while back that she liked to determine her character’s personality types early on in the writing process. That’s what I remember anyway. 😉 I could be wrong.

Regardless, it’s worth a shot to determine it. It can set a sort of guideline for how your character should act.

You wouldn’t want a generally quiet, analytic,  seemingly emotionless person to start screaming at someone when they cut a finger while chopping up some veggies, you know? It wouldn’t make sense and would be out of character because they would know it was no one’s fault but theirs and it wouldn’t be a huge deal anyway. Unless, of course, they lost the member.

And you wouldn’t want a very organized person to accidentally misplace a very important file.

Knowing your character’s personality type really helps keep them in character.

So how do you determine their personality type? I just go take a personality test from the perspective of the character in question. 🙂

Here are a few links you might find helpful:

> The Sixteen Personality Types

> Free Personality Test

> Jung Typology Test

> Myers Briggs Test

Let me know how this works out for you. 🙂 Maybe research and write down the different quirks that come with being whatever personality type your character falls under and keep it by your writing place so you can refer to it whenever you find yourself wonder what on earth Suzy should do in this type of situation.

God bless!

Rana

One thought on “Character Development (Part 5)

  1. Pingback: Character Development (Part 1) and What Can We Learn From Batman? | The Villain Authoress

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

