Character Development (Part 4)


Sorry for acquiring the M.I.A. status! I realize I’ve been a bad blog mistress. *hangs head in shame* But I’ve been away a few times and have not had internet access the entire time. So that’s my excuse. 😛 Plus, I’ve been lazy. So that’s two. And without further ado…

Today’s topic pertains as to why your readers should get to know your characters gradually.

Readers should get to know your characters gradually.Because your story needs to be realistic for people to enjoy it. Again, readers need to relate to your charries. Just like real people, characters should not give up all their secrets at once. Every story needs an element to some degree of suspense. Without it, there’s no point in continuing to read, you know?

So let the reader get to know your babies by means of a few different ways (and I’m sure these aren’t all, so feel free to add more in the comments 🙂 ):

1) Foreshadow

This is extremely helpful in peaking a reader’s interest. There are several ways to do this. A few are having the MC’s friend say something pertaining to the secret without spilling the beans. Something like, “Hey, you over it yet?” What would the MC be over? A broken relationship? A death? Some traumatic event?

Another way is to have something happen that might freak out the MC. If their house got burned to the ground when they were young, maybe someone lighting a match could give them a jolt. This one is very subtle and I like it because the reader could pass it up as, “oh, maybe they weren’t expecting that and just got startled.” Then later on, it’s like, “BAM! Bet you didn’t see that coming!”

I don’t know. I’m stupid. Anyway.

2) Have them hold back.

Maybe they are hostile toward someone or some thing because they have bad memories – memories which probably should/could fuel the story.

3) There needs to be a reason they act like that.

This kind of goes in line with the second “method,” so to speak. They behave a certain way toward something, but you can’t just have them act like it for no reason. They’re in a bad mood. Why? They’re depressed. Why? They don’t like a certain fashion. Is it because their ex dressed that way and it brings back painful memories? They don’t want to go to that restaurant. Why?

I hope you see what I’m getting at. 😛

If not, grab a human translator that speaks crazy or something. Or just ask for clarification in the comments.

Note: This not only pertains to your MC, but also to all other characters whether they be friends, allies, or villains.

We’ve got three more parts to this 7-part-character-development series. Hang in there. 😉

God bless!

Rana

2 thoughts on “Character Development (Part 4)

  1. I definitely agree with you. Pacing is so important. I tend to find it easier with my non-POV characters. Whenever I hold back crucial things from a POV character I feel like I’m cheating the reader somehow, or that it sounds forced. Any suggestions? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Character Development (Part 1) and What Can We Learn From Batman? | The Villain Authoress

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

