Miscellaneous Writing Observations


‘Ello, you lovely people!

Sorry I’ve been absent. I’m tired. Excuses, excuses, I know. 😛

I’ve been busy with school, editing The Reset, and sleep, as well as other things. I really don’t think God intended people to play with time. I mean, honestly. Who gave us the authority to turn the clock back an hour? Ridiculous.

Anywho. Onto the writing observations or whatever you want to call whatever follows.

1) If you write consistently, you won’t need to force yourself to write.

Now, I realize that sometimes you have writers block. When you do… try to get over it. I know, I know. Brilliant advice. There are tons of posts all over the internet on how to overcome writers block. Just Google it. 😉 So, before I was really into it, it was hard to write. I’d have to force myself to write and even then, it was difficult to make the words flow.

But, if you write consistently every day and set a minimum word count for yourself, writing becomes much easier and fluid. I used to use a novel log (which is very helpful!) and track how many words I added every day until it became more of a hindrance than a help. I couldn’t get as much school done (hah! I really don’t know how I do now…), I’d freak if I didn’t write, etc. And then I realized I didn’t need it. I was writing every day, I didn’t need to force myself, and I was more relaxed. That’s where you want to be in your writing.

2) Doubt is a dangerous servant and a fearful master.

Okay, okay. I know it’s a spin-off of George Washington’s fire/government quote. But really. It’s true. If you don’t doubt your work, you’re doing something wrong. But if you doubt so much that you’re constantly putting yourself down about it, you’re on the other end of the spectrum. Find the happy (I use the term loosely) medium and continue to try and improve yourself.

Always push yourself to the limit. Always strive to learn more. Get critiques if you can, read other people’s writing, critique other people’s writing, join a beta group, start one. Writers, I find, are very supportive of each other. We’re like the unicorns of the world – but we really do exist. 😉

3) Be weird.

A while back, I wrote a post concerning the question “why are writers weird?” Basically, it’s because we have much more going on in our heads than most people do. Embrace the weird. Be your real-life unicorn. It’s okay. 😉

4) We’re not sadists. We’re writers. There is a difference.

I’ve noticed that I have an attraction to morbid things, awful stories, and pain. It’s not because I enjoy it, but because I’m a writer. As Julie Write once said, “What doesn’t kill us, gives us something to write about.” Bad decisions make great stories. But that doesn’t mean you should go around making bad decisions. That would be dumb. Just learn from yours and other’s mistakes. And, by using those, you can create epic, believable tales.

5) Advice isn’t absolute.

“Remember when people tell you something’s wrong or doesn’t work for them, they’re almost always right. When they tell you exactly what they think is wrong and how to fix it, they are almost always wrong.” Neil Gaiman hit the nail on the head right there. Take people’s advice, try it out. It might be something that works for them and not for you or it could be a brilliant piece of wisdom that will work in all situations no matter what. It really depends on the person.

There are no set-in-stone rules for writing. It’s a beautiful art – a relationship with words. No relationship with a person is the same, ever. Why should it be different with writing? Bond, get to know your style, make mistakes, learn from them, be awesome.

God bless!

Rana

2 thoughts on “Miscellaneous Writing Observations

  1. I’M BACK FOR MY RANAKINS. ;D Lotta stress with moving — sorry I’ve been absent. 😦

    As always, m’dear, GREAT advice. A personal opinion on the ‘sadistic’ one is that as humans, we’ve all been through pain. Writing is a way to relieve that, look at it from another angle and heal. And I’ve read things that have been painful, but in the end have lifted me and helped me heal, making me a better person. You’ve said stuff like that before, O Wise One. ;D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

