When You’re Exhausted


Well, the past few weeks for me have been insane.

I’ve been wanting to write, but can’t. And if I can, it’s crap. I’ll leave out important details I otherwise probably would include. So when you’re exhausted, it’s probably best to not write.

Before I continue, I’d like to remind y’all that this blog is solely to share with you my experiences. Whatever “advice” I might state here works for me. It might not for you and that’s okay. If it helps out one person, I’m happy. 😉

So when you’re tired, your brain doesn’t function properly. I won’t go into details (mainly because not many people are going to be interested in reading about the brain), but we all know what it feels like to be tired. You just want to crash, but you have other things you need to do. *cough* School work. *cough*

I love to write. It’s my passion. But I have to admit there are other things that take precedence. I hate to say it. I really do. But it’s true. So I’m learning that it’s okay to put writing on hold for a bit.

They say you need to push yourself to write, even when you don’t want to. And I agree. But only in some circumstances. I thought that being tired was no valid reason to take a break from writing. But it is. If you’re just being lazy, that’s one thing. But if you’re legitimately exhausted, take a break.

If you’re stressing over writing something, that’s not healthy. Enjoy what you write. If you make a habit of writing every day when you can, it’s easier to write on command. 😉

Yeah, it’s better to have a rough draft than no draft, but if you’re going to be confusing yourself and losing your passion for telling that story because you just want to get it done, you’re not really getting anywhere. Know what I mean?

I’ve put my novel draft on hold and started a new one. But I’m not doing a novel log for it. Novel logs kept me accountable when I needed to force myself to write. And it was fantastic! And I think, once my schedule has loosened up a bit, I will start it again, but right now, I write anyway.

Like I said before, it’s not the word count that counts. 😉

So basically, if you’re being lazy, force yourself to write. If you’re just forcing stuff onto the paper because you feel like that’s the only way the first draft is going to get done, wait. Relax. Put it off until you can handle it and write something more easily.

Does that make sense to you? Do you feel the same way or do you feel like I’m totally off?

God bless!

Rana

One thought on “When You’re Exhausted

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

