Chatterbox: Food


I was having an e-mail conversation with the lovely Mirriam Neal yesterday and I let her know that I had almost accidentally typed “food” instead of “good” to which she responded “‘good’ and ‘food’ can be easily interchanged.” I wholeheartedly agree with this statement. 🙂

If you don’t know what Chatterbox is, check out the Inkpen Authoress blog. 😉

And now here is a snippet from Chapter 13 The Reset. This takes place just after Alias meets the lovely January.

“What time do you need to get back home?”

“I don’t,” I answer. “You got any place to be?”

He shakes his head. “I got no place to go, except the places I want to be.”

“Sounds nice.”

“It does, doesn’t it?” Jan stares off into the middle distance, his voice thoughtful.

“You hungry?” I ask him. “Can I take you out for supper?”

He raises an eyebrow. “Did you just ask me out on a date?”

I shake my head. “No. I asked you if you wanted some free food.”

He spreads his hands out. “Hey, I’ve never not accepted a free meal. But what’s the catch?”

“No catch. Just food.”

“Unless, of course, we eat fish. In which case, there must be a catch for there to be food.”

I laugh as I stand and stretch my legs. “True. Now where would you like to go?”

God bless!

Rana

One thought on “Chatterbox: Food

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

