Write Raw


Okay, okay, I know you’ve seen this type of thing all over the place.

But really.

Think about it.

Why do you write?

Is it for yourself? If so, why? Do you do it to relieve stress? To get your feelings out on paper? Other reasons?

Do you do it for fame?

Do you do it for the money?

Or do you do it for others?

I write for others. Well, at least I try to. I get such a kick out of writing. It’s really the only time I feel alive. I mean, yeah, I do other things like school, debate, hang out with people (rarely), work, crochet. But writing just flows from me like ink from a pen. Yeah, that was kind of cheesy, but that’s how I feel.

I’m not saying I’m a perfect writer. I’m not saying I can’t improve. I’m not saying I’m ready to be published. I’m not saying my feelings give me any authority to teach others or tell you what to do. I’m saying this is me.

Now, I keep at it despite the fact that I can’t let y’all beta read. I still write even though certain people keep telling me I should do other, “more worthy” things. Why? Because I have something to say.

Words don’t flow out of my mouth like they do through my fingers. Also, people can’t interrupt the printed word. All they can do is stop reading. And who’s missing out? Certainly not me. I did my part. I’ll tell the truth even if it hurts.

Especially if it hurts.

I write to tell the truth, to console broken hearts. And I really hope that’s what I do.

It’s not enough for me to attempt at helping others.

I genuinely want to make a positive impression in people’s lives. I want to be the person someone can point to and say, “because of her, I didn’t give up. Because of her, I believe.”

I’m not going to shove my faith down anyone’s throat. I’m not going to force anything down anyone’s throat. That’s not why I write. I think that’s something people might confuse.

They might say, “oh, you want to convert people to Christianity? Well, I’m not going to read your stuff because it’ll just be like cramming your faith down my throat and I don’t like that.”

This isn’t my goal at all. Forcing anything down anyone’s throat will only harden them to whatever it is you’re trying to convince them on. My goal is to write honestly and hope it will touch them, or make them think.

Why write if it’s not going to make an impression on anyone? It’s a waste of time and talent.

Just write raw.

Bare your soul.

The more honest you are, the better the story is.

God bless!

Rana

4 thoughts on “Write Raw

  1. Boy, this really makes me wish I could GET OVER MY WRITER’S BLOCK. I can’t seem to find anything that I feel passionate enough about. Characters and ideas don’t leap into my head like they used to. This has been the longest dry spell, creativly, that I’ve ever had. *sigh*

    Like

    • *hugs* I’m praying. ❤ Just keep praying about it. 🙂 Do you spend enough time praying? I know that sounds really weird, but Mirriam was saying a while back that her writing suffers when her spiritual life suffers and I'm pretty sure it's the same with me. So… maybe that's it? I'm not jumping to conclusions or anything. 😛

      Like

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

