The Reset


Let me start off by saying, “wow.”

Like, fo’ real. My last post got shared 141 times on Pinterest. O_O

I’m shocked. And I’m happy. ^_^ Thank you so much, guys! I love you! xD

I asked my mum last night if I could respond to comments, and she said no. *sigh* But I promise you guys that when I can, I will. And I will enjoy it. It bothers me that I can’t get to know you. *sniffle* But please don’t let our lack of communication stop you from commenting. I really do read all your comments and I enjoy seeing what you have to say. *hugs*
And now, I’d like to present to you my newest plot bunny! *drumroll* The Reset!

I’m horrible with blurbs, and I know that’s horrible because I’m a writer and writers are supposed to be good with words. But I’m still learning and condensing a whole novel into only a couple hundred words is painful. There’s so much more to it than just what’s in the summary. :/

But anywho, I’ll try to write a blurb. 😛

Alias Holden lives in Stone Cross Manor located in Ulverson, Cumbria, UK. To save her fiance from a life of sin and agony, she takes his place in the Bank which is run by elves, who, contrary to popular belief, are not the noble creatures Tolkien portrayed them to be. According to ancient legend, they are powerful and supernatural beings who are more likely to harm humans than aid them. The word “Elves” comes from an old Germanic term for “nightmare.”

Alias has not been human for two hundred years, kept alive by the strange powers of the elves. She is made to kill periodically in order to continue living without the physical pain she normally would feel at two hundred and twenty four years old. The blood from her target would be transported to her account, but she wants out.

Unfortunately, the Bank won’t release her. They tell her they own her soul, but she doesn’t believe it. Alias has tried simply disobeying orders, but Fanon (the head of the Bank in the UK) sent shadows, voices, and physical pain to torture her until she completed the job. Alias is determined to get out, but has no idea how…

Okay, so there’s more than that, but like I said, I’m horrible condensing something huge into only a couple hundred words. 😛

And now for a snippet! Okay, it’s actually chapter 1, so a bit more than a snippet. 😀

The mirror shows no reflection as I stare – no – glare at the glass. There hasn’t been a reflection for two hundred years yet every day, I go back in the hope of seeing something. Anything. But every day, I wake up only to greet disappointment at the door.

It’s been my only company for these past two centuries.

They say I need to change, to open up to people, to make friends. But change hurts, and I’d have to cut myself open to make friends. Friends who die as soon as I begin to care.

It’s a curse.

A bloody curse.

I tear my gaze away from the mirror and storm downstairs to find Fëar sitting in my dining room, a steaming cup of tea in his pale hands. His legs are elevated to show off his muddy boots resting on my beautiful cherry oak table. The familiar black cat rests in his lap.

“What do you want?” I snap, not in the mood for any sort of conversation.

“I came to see if you’ve discovered anything,” he yawns.

“I haven’t. Now go away.”

“My dear girl, you didn’t even look. I’d bet my cat on it.”

The feline looks up at me with that strange golden eye. The other one is hidden by an eye patch.

“What do you want?” I sigh, pouring myself a cup of coffee.

“I want his blood.”

When I turn around, Fëar is standing right in front of me. His voice sounds like the red liquid he desires oozing out of a wound.

“Then take it,” I snap. “I don’t want it.”

“The last time you said that, Alias, you ended up making a bloody mess. Quite literally.”

“I don’t want to do it anymore. I told you that already.”

“You have no choice,” he hisses as one of his slender hands wraps around my arm. I cry out in pain as his fingers constrict the blood flow. “If you wanted to save him, you have to make some sacrifices.”

“Haven’t I made enough?” I scream more out of frustration than pain. “I haven’t seen my reflection for a very long time, Fëar.”

“You’re hollow inside.”

“I haven’t been human for two hundred years,” I snarl.

“I told you the consequences before you agreed to suffer them,” the tall, pale man growls. His fierce, glassy blue eyes are bloodshot and rimmed with red eyelids. “You know how to reverse it. Do it if you want it so much.”

“But who’s to say the next time I put this gun to my head it won’t go off?” I snap. “It’s too risky.”

“Your choice,” Fëar shrugs. He releases my arm and steps back. Something like an invisible sheet wraps around him and a second later, he reappears in the chair at the table, his feet propped up on the wood once again.

The one-eyed black cat rubs against my leg. I watch it with distaste.

“You told me once,” I tell Fëar, “the less you care, the happier you’ll be.”

“How’s it working out for you?” He sips his tea.

“It’s not.”

“Then you’re doing it wrong.”

“I don’t want to kill my conscience,” I tell him. “I don’t want to lose the one part of me that’s still human.”

“Alias, you’re confused!” Fëar laughs. “You’re living these lives all wrong!”

“No,” I say. “I’m not living lives. I’m taking them. And I’m not interested in it anymore.”

“The only way to get out, is to take many more. The only way to stay in, is to take only a few.”

“And I can’t die.”

“Tough, isn’t it?” Fëar looks sympathetic for a moment, but I know he can’t really be feeling that way. He’s incapable of feeling whatsoever. “You’re still so human. It’s a tough phase. You’ll get over it one day.”

“How do you ‘get over’ having to kill every person you care about just to keep from losing your soul? It sounds like that’s more of a way to lose it.”

“It will make sense in time, my darling.” Fëar takes one last sip of his tea. “Just wait.”

“What? Like two hundred years isn’t enough?” I scream at him. His lack of emotion rubs me the wrong way.

“You’re still young!” he soothes, standing up and coming to me. His arms wrap around my smaller body. I breathe in the distinct scent of lavender and lemongrass. Fëar always smells like that. Actually, all the Bankers smell the same. It’s a soothing scent.

“Alias,” I hear Fëar whisper, “you’re doing the right thing.”

A second later, the man, his dark blue scarf, black top coat, and top hat, as well as the black cat are gone. They disappeared, leaving me to my own devices.

I smile.

And that scares me just a little bit.

Hope you enjoyed that! 🙂

God bless!

Rana

P.S.

Tomorrow, we’re celebrating my little sister’s birthday, so I’m making a Reese’s Peanut Butter cake. Be jealous.

ALSO, I’M GOING TO SEE THE HOBBIT!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

2 thoughts on “The Reset

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

