Hide All the Writing!


Helloooooo, all!

I’m still tired.

I was almost in tears last night, wondering why I keep laughing. Mom thinks it’s because I spend so much time on the computer (sorry, can’t help it! All my highschool classes are online!) and because I don’t exercise (hey, I’m pretty small [as in 4’11” and 100-106 lbs.], so I’m good, right? I mean, I’m not stick-thin, but I’m not chubby either.).

Ah, well. SOCKS (es o se que es = it is how it is [Spanish]).

 Today’s post is going to be on why so many writers (myself included) don’t mind  sharing their work with complete strangers over the internet, but would rather get  run over by a taxi than show it to their parents/guardians/siblings/cousins/other  relatives/friends.

It is a bit strange, don’t

 you think? I mean, our families have been there for us all our  lives and yet… we still have trouble presenting our work to them. Why?

Because writing is bleeding. It is a pouring of ourselves onto paper. Our deepest fears, darkest thoughts, and most fantastical dreams. We share our life’s lessons with those who will read them. In essence, we put on paper what we could never tell people in real life.

People with whom we communicate over the internet just don’t seem real sometimes. I mean, I know they’re people, not robots. I know they have feelings and care. I can get to know them almost as well as I could in real life, but there’s something missing: facial expressions, hugs, warmth, voices. These qualities are so important in making friendships, but they are lacking over the internet.

And that’s why we can share stories with them. We have a false sense of privacy and security. They’re not people we’ve known

forever and who will judge us based on who they thought we

 were as opposed to who they see when they read what we’ve written.

This is what we’re afraid of when letting those in our physical lives read our works. We’re afraid they’ll worry, judge us, make us stop, ask us why, hurt our feelings, etcetera. They know us as well as anyone could in real life, but we write about the things they don’t know.

But, as humans, we all have feelings, thoughts, and fears that we could never tell anyone in real life. Paper is our way of letting it all out.

So, why are writers afraid to show their work to their friends/families? Because we are afraid.

It’s not a bad thing, but I believe it’s something we need to get over. If you’re a serious writer and have the intention of publishing, it’s best to not keep the secret until it’s out for the whole world to see. They will feel hurt that you didn’t trust them and that you were afraid to show them. If you know they love you unconditionally, I encourage you to show them. ❤

If you can’t do that right away, it’s perfectly all right. 😉 I don’t know when I’ll conquer this fear. I hope to one day. BUT IT IS NOT THIS DAY. (Anyone catch that LotR reference? 😛 )

And don’t let yourself become a Snoopy. You’ve got a story to tell. Tell it.

And now… I present to you the cutest video on the face of the earth: Benedict Cumberbatch reading a bedtime story (I remember this one!).

God bless!

Rana

One thought on “Hide All the Writing!

  1. This is EXACTLY like me! Posting things on the internet is one thing, I don’t even mind that my parents read those posts, but stories and poetry are a whole different thing. I just know that as soon as I show something like that to my parents or other relatives, they’ll start asking questions: “What made you write that? Why do you talk that way in writing? What the heck does this mean?” I’d rather avoid it all, but I guess professional writers can’t do that. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

