Equality and Rights: Are All People Equal?


Hello to all! 😀

I’m surprised I didn’t get a lot of hate on that last post. But even if I did, I wouldn’t really care. 😛 I’m just one of those people. I do what I want, when I want (as long as my mum says it’s okay). Ya know what I mean? I appreciate polite debates, but not hate. If you would like clarification on what I believe and would like to point anything out, please do so, but with respect.

Are all people equal?

This question has two answers: yes and no.

Yes: We are all equally human and endowed by God with the rights to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.

>Life: Everyone has the right to life, which makes abortion intrinsically wrong. I mean, this is logic. If a man shoots a pregnant woman and kills her, he is charged for TWO murders. Not one. So, if the law recognizes the child’s right to life in this instance, why is that same child denied his/her right to life if the mother decides she doesn’t want a baby? Makes no sense to me.

I know that there are many different situations that could make the woman want to abort her child, but it’s all wrong. A child conceived in rape is still human and still has the right to live. What’s worse is that these unborn babies have no voice to speak up. This is murder in cold blood.

>Liberty: Liberty is a tricky issue. People use it as an excuse to justify the wrong they have done. “I had a right!” Yeah, sure. You had the right to do x, y, and z until it infringed on someone else’s rights. People use “liberty” as an argument in advocating for the “civil rights” movement. This is not a liberty, guys.

Marriage is solely for the purpose of creating a family. And family is the core of society. When you redefine that, you pretty much just signed your country’s death warrant. And I’m not being overly dramatic about that. I mean it in all seriousness. We’ll continue on from here in just a little bit.

>Pursuit of happiness: This is kind of following up into liberty. You have a right to be happy as long as you’re not going so far as to infringe on someone else’s rights. In that case, it simply becomes an abused version of freedom.

No: While all people are equal, they are also different.

I want to share with you some notes I took in church a while back (paraphrased, since I’m not the fastest writer). I have to say: my preacher is one of the smartest men I know. He doesn’t just study the church’s history and say, “Oh, yes, but I wish it was this way.” No, he gives you the facts: all of them. You ask him a history question and he’ll tell you the answer off the top of his head in three seconds. I am so blessed to know Father C.

The points he made here pretty much sum up everything I would like to say:

1) “I’m for humans eating oysters, but not for oysters eating humans.” – George Orwell.

> This basically means that I’m for marriage, but not gay marriage.

2) Gay marriage isn’t about gays; it’s about redefining the marriage which the state can’t do.

3) There is only 1 human race. It used to be that there were no interracial couples way back when. Now, they’re saying it’s the same with gay marriage. But the difference is that with interracial couples: there was always the possibility of that happening. But no so with gay marriage. You can’t legislate against impossibilities.

> Mark 10:6 says, “But at the beginning of creation God ‘made them male and female.” (NIV) It’s impossible for reproduction to naturally occur between woman/woman or man/man.

4) All people are equal, but they’re different. You can’t treat them the same.

5) So, what about infertile couples? They don’t make families. What’s the difference between them and gays? The difference is that the infertile couple contributes to society by their example. The husband and wife can love each other, adopt children, etc. But gays can adopt too! The thing is, it’s impossible to raise a balanced family between man/man and woman/woman. You need both the father and the mother. Not the father pretending to be mother or the mother pretending to be father. It just doesn’t work.

6) Families are fundamental to society. (When we talk about families, we’re talking about man + woman = children.)

7) There is such a thing as “rational discrimination.”

> For instance, if you owned a company and you were hiring a truck driver, you wouldn’t put a blind man up for the job. It’s not because you’re racist or have something against blind people. It’s because the blind man cannot do the job.

> If you’re driving and total your car, who do you want to answer the phone when you dial for help? The tow truck man/emergency people or the pizza delivery guy who knows nothing about cars? You value the pizza delivery man for what he does and the two truck man for what he does and the emergency people for what they do. You wouldn’t want one doing the job of another.

Well, that’s all I have on the topic of homosexuality. I hope and pray it speaks to you clearly. If you have any questions, leave them in the comments and I’ll see what I can do to answer them. 😉

God bless!

Rana

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

