Tournaments, Talking, and Tired


Hello, my wonderful readers!

Just a quick update on what’s been going on. 🙂

Saturday, I have a speech and debate practice tournament all. day. long. As if the time change doesn’t make me tired enough, I have to get up around 5:00 a.m. or so in the morning on the one day I am able to sleep in. Yay. But it’s all good. I really enjoy debating. 🙂 I’m a member of NCFCA (National Christian Forensics Communications Association) and I’m a proud LDer. For more information on that, click here. 🙂 Also, Mom signed me up for impromptu. And I didn’t know that until a few weeks ago and I haven’t practiced for that or anything. O__________________________O Thanks, Mom. Very impromptu.

I’ve been spending my time doing school, cramming cases for both aff and neg (though mostly neg), and I’m proud to say that I have been getting in a little more than 1,000 words a day (with a few exceptions) in the third book of Desensitized. ^_^ I’m not doing NaNo, though I wish I could. Good luck to all of you involved though! 😉 I’m sure you’re doing great!

I’m a bit hesitant about sharing my writing with people… so… I’m going to swallow that fear and give y’all a snippet of book 3. *hides* Only, like, 2 people are reading it so far (big thanks to Una and Lisa) and they’re really nice. So don’t kill me. I’m still learning and I could be classified as an old newbie. 😛

So, here is the beginning of chapter 2:

Kody and I arrive at a small, quiet neighborhood a week later. I glance down at the paper in my hands.

“It says… 3805 Peck Street… I think. This penmanship is atrocious.” I look out the window and through the rain drops obscuring the clear glass. Kody and I both check the numbers on the houses and mailboxes and yawn. “Can’t wait to get there. I’m exhausted.”

“Yeah, I think I’ll crash too,” Kody responds, peering through the rain coming down like a thick blanket onto the windshield. “Ugh! This stupid rain!”

I nod. “It ain’t helping me stay awake any.”

“Same here.”

“Hey, how’d you find out where they were anyway?” I ask in the hope that a conversation would keep us both awake. We’ve been taking turns driving for the past three days, only stopping for food and bathroom breaks.

Kody glances over at me and grins. “I like to eavesdrop. When they were leaving, they told Cael where they were going and gave him their addresses in case something really bad happened. I wrote it down.”

“Oh. I guess you skipped out on the beautiful penmanship gene then, huh?” I smile, continuing to keep an eye out for the house numbers.

“Yeah. Skipped me an went to Ca- hey, there it is!” Kody pulls the car into a driveway. The rain is coming down so heavily that I can’t even see the house only a few yards away.

“I think we should wait until the rain lets up a bit,” I suggest, unbuckling my seatbelt. Kody does the same, nodding.

“I think this one is Blade’s house… Or, it’s one of his relative’s houses anyway. Bill Ferguson, I believe. He’s renting it. Core went to live with his cousin, Ryan Peterson.”

I turn my head slowly to stare at Kody. “I’m really disturbed now.”

The young man adopts an innocent look. “Why?”

“Dude, how do you even know that information? It’s pretty personal too. Do you know my number too?”

“Which number? Your cell phone number or the one on your wrist?”

My jaw drops slightly. I clap my hand over the scannable tattoo. “Wrist,” I challenge.

“Uh, I’m not great at numbers. But it’s 33092608, right?”

“Nine,” correct.

He grins cheekily. “I know. I just wanted to mess up so it wouldn’t totally freak you out.”

“Okay, that’s just-” My hands flail about as if that would convey how utterly terrified I am. “You’re such a creeper!” I manage to say at last.

Kody lets out a short bark of laughter. “I’ll take that as a compliment.”

“It’s not one. Creepers are… creepy. I don’t like them.”

“But you like me.”

“Not anymore.”

“Oh, come on. Yes, you do.”

“Nope.”

“Yes.”

“No.”

“Liar.”

“Creeper.”

“The fact’s already been established, weirdo.”

Aaaaaand now I have something fun for all of you! 😀 A video! It’s by a singer named Christina Grimmie and her friend. Christina is a 19 year old Christian who started homeschooling in 2010. Check out her music — it’s fantastic! ^_^

Here’s the vid (watch all 6 of them — they’re hilarious)! I hope you enjoyed the writing snippet! 🙂

God bless!

Rana

P.S.

If y’all could pray for the tournament to go well, I’d appreciate it. 🙂 It’s a long day and my club is hosting the tournament and there’ll be, like, a lot of people there. I think it’s 100 – 200 kids. I think. Anyway. Thanks!

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

