Tomorrow and A Tidbit on Meaningful Writing


Hey, everyone! 😀

So, as you know, tomorrow (September 7, 2013) is to be a day of fasting and praying for peace. Which is what I’m going to do. I won’t be online during that time, but I should be back Sunday! 🙂

Please be praying for peace. I don’t care if you’re Catholic, Protestant, or Muslim. We need peace.

I’m trying remember what Sam said in LotR though. “There’s some good in the world, Mr. Frodo. And it’s worth fighting for!”

Next! Okay. So, I know when I first started seriously about two years ago,  I found it really annoying that my writing seemed kind of… flat. If you know what I mean. I was like this as I wrote:

It was terribly hard to keep writing because I knew I had something to say, I just didn’t know what exactly. And I think the reason people write is because they have something to say.

So, to get a deep novel, deep characters, deep thoughts that make an impression on people, find something that means a lot to you (it could be an issue people are facing today that you want to help with, it could be a sensitive issue not talked about frequently, but you want your voice to get out there, etc.), and implement it into a story.

Remember in Lord of the Rings where Sam gave his short, sweet, and powerful speech? He says,

“I know. It’s all wrong. By rights we shouldn’t even be here. But we are. It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger, they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end. Because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines it will shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you. That meant something, even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand. I know now. Folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going. Because they were holding on to something.”

Those are the stories that stayed with us. The ones that really mattered.

So what matters to you? Will you write a story that’s purely for entertainment, or will you make your mark on this world?

But I’d like to hear from you! 🙂 Is there anything I missed? What do you think creates a good story?

God bless!

Rana

Leave a reply! Go ahead! ::pokes:: Make my day!

